About LMCC's Arts Center Residency

LMCC’s Arts Center at Governors Island is home to year-round artist residency programs.

In this inaugural year, artists will explore themes of social justice/social practice, NYC Harbor,  Governors Island history, and climate change.

Resident artists have access to the Arts Center year-round where they have received their own dedicated studio space as well as access to all of the Arts Center’s common/shared spaces. Opportunities for professional and creative development are programmed throughout the residency period, and Open Studios Weekends and events will take place throughout the public season.

Current artists-in-residence include Yto Barrada, Colleen Billing, Baris Gokturk, Hypokrit Theatre Company, Maya Jeffereis, Amy Khoshbin, Brendan Kiely, Hilary Lorenz, Jillian McDonald, Ander Mikalson, Lize Mogel, Aviva Rahmani, Leah Raintree, Aida Šehović, Aaron Suggs, Asiya Wadud, and Michael Wang. Choreographers-in-residence include Nora Chipaumire, Beth Gill, Keyon Gaskin, Maria Hassabi, Sarah Michelson, Okwui Okpokwasili, David Thomson, and Mariana Valencia.

LMCC’s Arts Center Residency Program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, and the National Endowment for the Arts. 
The Arts Center Residency is also supported, in part, by Cowles Charitable Trust, The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation, Jacques and Natasha Gelman Trust, May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation, Inc., The Norman & Bettina Roberts Foundation, The Mertz Gilmore Foundation, and Milton & Sally Avery Arts Foundation, and the Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF).

Learn more

For more information about the Arts Center Residency and LMCC's other programs and initiatives, subscribe to our newsletter.