The Downtown Dinner


Jessica Lappin, President, Downtown Alliance
Maggie Boepple

Liberty Awards for Civic Leadership

Eiko Otake 
Sam Miller Award for Performing Arts

Paul Pfeiffer
Michael Richards Award for Visual Arts

Amina Henry
Sarah Verdone Writing Award

Given the current situation, The Downtown Dinner, originally scheduled for Monday, May 18th, has been postponed to a date later this fall. We will share updates very soon.

For more information on how to support The Downtown Dinner, please contact Jasmin Tabatabaee at

Our Honorees

President Jessica Lappin; Brookfiled Place; Jessica Lappin headshot
Jessica Lappin is the President of the Downtown Alliance. The organization manages New York City’s largest Business Improvement District and works to ensure that Lower Manhattan is a thriving and dynamic community. At the helm of the Alliance, she is responsible for providing sanitation and public safety services, manages a free bus service, and has made outreach to the street homeless a priority.  She has also significantly expanded the free public WiFi network in Lower Manhattan, produced award-winning ads and marketing videos, instituted a district-wide solar-powered recycling program, and helped secure nearly $100 million in resiliency funding for Lower Manhattan. A lifelong New Yorker and former elected official, Ms. Lappin has a distinguished record in civic life and public service.

Maggie Boepple served most recently as President/Director of the The Performing Arts Center at the World Trade Center (PAC@WTC), following a distinguished international career in public service, administration and government relations. Prior to her time at PAC@WTC, Boepple was President of LMCC where, under her direction, the organization ran the largest artist residency program in New York and created innovative arts programs, including Lent Space Art Park and studios on Governors Island. Previously, Boepple served as Senior Advisor to the Commissioner of Transport in London on the Private Public Partnership for the London Underground and held senior government positions at the MTA in New York and in the Koch administration, where she was the first woman to be appointed Director of Intergovernmental Relations. She currently serves as Vice Chair of The Fund for the City of New York. Boepple graduated from Brooklyn College. She is married to noted sculptor Willard Boepple and lives in Manhattan.

Photo by Gregory Georges

Born and raised in Japan and a resident of New York since 1976, Eiko Otake is a movement–based, interdisciplinary artist with a history of working for forty years as Eiko & Koma. Starting with the World Trade Center in 2000, LMCC offered many residencies to both Eiko & Koma and Eiko herself. Three consecutive River To River Festivals (2014-2016) presented EIko’s first independent work Two Women; her solo works A Body in a Station and A Body on Wall Street; video installation A Body with Water; the experimental “Talking Duets” with Emmanuelle Huynh and Okwui Okpokwasili. The last two works, and conversations with Sam Miller, led Eiko to develop her extensive Duet Project (2017-),  in which she engages with artists of varied backgrounds and practices.

PPF-2015-Photo-At Maculangan_02

Paul Pfeiffer was born in Honolulu, HI, in 1966 and grew up traveling regularly between Hawaii and the Philippines. He moved to New York City in 1990 where he attended Hunter College and the Whitney Independent Study Program. Pfeiffer’s groundbreaking work in video, sculpture, and photography revisits the history of popular mass entertainment to explore the role of images in shaping individual and collective
consciousness. Reworking clips from YouTube, cable TV, and increasingly his own footage, Pfeiffer delves deeply into the aesthetics of non-linear editing to elucidate the hybrid forms of space and time that define day-to-day experience in the contemporary world. For the Performa 19 Biennial, Pfeiffer presented his first live performance in collaboration with The Georgia Redcoat Marching Band from the University of Georgia, at the Apollo Theater on November 11, 2019.


Amina Henry's recent productions include The Animals, Ducklings, Hunter John and Jane and The Johnsons at JACK (Brooklyn, NY), Bully (SUNY Purchase, Clubbed Thumb WinterWorks, Interrobang Theatre, and elsewhere), The Great Novel (New Light Theater) and Troy (HERO Theatre). Her work has been produced, presented at, and/or developed by: Oregon Shakespeare Festival, The New Group, Ars Nova, Page 73, Clubbed Thumb, The Flea, National Black Theatre, HERO Theater, Project Y Theatre, Dixon Place and other venues. She was a 2017-2018 LMCC Space Grant recipient. She is a New Georges Affiliate Artist and 2018-2019 Audrey grant recipient for her play Hamlet Is Dead.

Our Supporters

As of May 27, 2020


HLW International LLP
Neil Parikh
The Howard Hughes Corporation

American Express
Anne Goldrach/Greystone Management Corp.
Bloomberg Philanthropies
BuroHappold Engineering
Cherrie Nanninga
Conrad New York
Downtown-Lower Manhattan Association
Elizabeth & Michael Ashworth
Ken & Kim Blacklow
Linda Genereux & Timur Galen
Morgan Stanley/ Ekene Ezulike
Neil Goldmacher, Newmark Knight Frank
Time Equities, Inc.

The Durst Organization
L&L Holding Company, LL

Meredith Kane
Scott B. Salmirs, President & CEO ABM Industries
Esta Stecher

Marcia and Noel Caban
McDermott Will & Emery LLP
Pei Cobb Freed & Partners
Richard Berney, Cozen O'Connor
Thornton Tomasetti


Kevin Hoo, Co-Chair
Brian Saluzzo, Co-Chair
Kimberly Brown Blacklow
Greg James
Adam Meister
Cherrie Nanninga

About LMCC

Lower Manhattan Cultural Council is a partnership-driven nonprofit organization that has been working at the intersection of arts, business, and community in Lower Manhattan for almost five decades. In September, we opened LMCC’s Arts Center at Governors Island—a 40,000 square foot creative space that serves as the gateway to Governors Island’s Arts & Culture District.

The Downtown Dinner supports our efforts to serve, connect, and make space for artists and community in Manhattan and beyond.


Past Events:

The Downtown Dinner 2019
The Downtown Dinner 2018