“Compassionate artistry, commitment to clear storytelling, and creation of a stage language that is both lyrical and visceral…The Assembly’s work from Wesleyan forward manifests [an] evolution/revolution in theatre and performance studies teaching, scholarship, theory, and practice.” – Cindy Rosenthal, TDR: The Drama Review, Fall 2016

The Assembly is a New York-based multi-disciplinary collective of theater artists committed to realizing a visceral and intelligent theater for a new generation. Members of the Assembly address the complexities of our ever-changing world through unabashedly theatrical, and rigorously researched ensemble performance.

The Assembly consists of Stephen Aubrey, Ben Beckley, Edward Bauer, Nick Benacerraf, Jess Chayes, and Emily Louise Perkins. They create work collaboratively, and are committed to rooting its artists, audiences, and peers in a profound sense of community. The Assembly’s works include I WILL LOOK FORWARD TO THIS LATER, New Ohio Theatre (2016) and Odyssey Theatre LA (2016); and THAT POOR DREAM, New Ohio Theatre (2014).

Their awards and residencies include Williams College Summer Theater Lab, Williamstown, MA (2016); The Archive Residency (2014-2016); The New Ohio Theater; and IRT, New York City (2014-2016). Edward Bauer and Jess Chayes both hold B.A.’s from Wesleyan University. Stephen Aubrey received his B.A. from Wesleyan University and his M.F.A. from Brooklyn College. Nicolas Benacerraf received his B.A. from Wesleyan University and his M.A. and M.F.A. from California Arts. Ben Beckley received his B.A. from Princeton University. Emily Louise Perkins received her B.A. from Clemson University.

Featured Image Photo Credit: Nick Benacerraf